Jump to content


Photo

Warning on effects of too much GFO


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 jammoye2

jammoye2

    Open Brain

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 988 posts
  • Reputation: 53

Posted 19 May 2011 - 02:36 PM

I am pissed.... >:(  This is the 2nd time this has happened. I had an alk swing which I re-adjusted too fast and I lost some tissue on the bases of many of my SPS corals. Then I put in the recommended amount of GFO according to BRS (1 tablespoon for 4 gallons) and lo and behold 3 days later my SPS is looking ugly.  Word to the wise, take it easy on the GFO.
  • Kennethasync likes this

#2 PaulieFish

PaulieFish

    Xenia

  • DVRC PAID SUPPORTERS
  • 81 posts
  • Reputation: 15

Posted 19 May 2011 - 02:43 PM

Well I know you are slowly suppose to add it, not all at once. Like I did 1 tbsp per 10 gallons at start,then worked up to 1 tbsp every 4gallons with no bad effect. Then again I only keep SPS in my tank so... yeah. :p

#3 solid14th

solid14th

    Acropora

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 7,447 posts
  • Reputation: 26

Posted 19 May 2011 - 03:00 PM

I'm really sorry Jerry.  If you anything and I have the coral you can have a frag.

#4 Just Jim

Just Jim

    Montipora

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 2,749 posts
  • Reputation: 267

Posted 19 May 2011 - 03:13 PM

that blows.  I have a larger tank, so I just load up my phosban canister all the way and test 10-12 hours later.
Rebuilding since 4/28/12

#5 jgatmaitan

jgatmaitan

    Acan

  • FOUNDING MEMBERS
  • 1,922 posts
  • Reputation: 2

Posted 19 May 2011 - 03:31 PM

Sorry to hear that.  I just started using GFO a couple of months ago and I'm trying to be careful on how much to use. 

#6 FishTri

FishTri

    Acan

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 1,534 posts
  • Reputation: 40

Posted 19 May 2011 - 04:14 PM

I'm not sure what the issue is, but I haven't had great luck with GFO. Mike at TFZ mentioned that sometimes new GFO puts a lot of little particulate into the water which pissed the corals off, so I try to rinse really well. If I ever do it again, maybe I'll try adding a little at a time and building up, but for now I'm playing with vodka dosing.

Be right there, Honey...


#7 Just Jim

Just Jim

    Montipora

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 2,749 posts
  • Reputation: 267

Posted 19 May 2011 - 04:21 PM

Depending on your water change volume, you can skip rinsing and just load into the chamber.  Run a little, shake it up and run some more....
Rebuilding since 4/28/12

#8 mocarski

mocarski

    Sun Coral

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 15,140 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 19 May 2011 - 04:26 PM

I run a little bit of gfo and change it out more often. I'm running 8-10 teaspoons in 160 gallons of water. Less chance of shocking the system that way.

Sorry about the problems Jerry. Tough hobby. If it's not one thing it's something else, isn't it? I'm going through the same thing right now but for other reasons.

#9 jammoye2

jammoye2

    Open Brain

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 988 posts
  • Reputation: 53

Posted 19 May 2011 - 07:30 PM

It's my own fault since I should have followed my instincts and put in less like I have been doing the past few months.  Oh well....not a total disaster just a set back.

#10 coraladdict

coraladdict

    Montipora

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 2,582 posts
  • Reputation: 39

Posted 19 May 2011 - 07:37 PM

Hmmm never realized that Gfo Could have such ill effects!!! I usually just fill my BRS chamber 3/4's the way up and pop it inline. Is there any other issue then the Alk?

#11 wfournier

wfournier

    Montipora

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 2,796 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 20 May 2011 - 07:32 AM

GFO can cause an alk swing, particularly if you run your alk high (like 10-12+). Additionally it can shock your system by pulling out PO4 too quickly if you have significant amount of PO4. My impression is that if you are starting or gone a long time between changes it's probably a good idea to start with a smaller amount to avoid shocking the system.

#12 jammoye2

jammoye2

    Open Brain

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 988 posts
  • Reputation: 53

Posted 20 May 2011 - 11:38 AM

Will I think what you described is exactly what happened. I had not changed my GFO in a couple of months and I had been using a much smaller amount previously.

#13 Rosti

Rosti

    Xenia

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 38 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 11 June 2011 - 10:42 PM

What phosphate levels do you guys like to keep at? I change cup of GFO(BRS) every week, and phosphate stays at .03ppm using Hanna checker.
THE most important component of a coral reef aquarium is a deep sand bed. Ronald L. Shimek, Ph. D.
Posted Image

#14 mocarski

mocarski

    Sun Coral

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 15,140 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 12 June 2011 - 08:34 AM

PO4 meters don't measure all types of PO4 in the tank and PO4 is funny stuff in the tank. In my tank it did not evenly distribute within the water column. So any reading IMO is more than you want. I keep mine at a reading of 0 on a Milwaukee (Martini) photometer.

#15 mocarski

mocarski

    Sun Coral

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 15,140 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 12 June 2011 - 08:35 AM

Oh, and GFO is only one way of lowering po4. water changes, kalk, heavy protein skimming, etc help.

#16 mocarski

mocarski

    Sun Coral

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 15,140 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 12 June 2011 - 08:36 AM

Jerry, did you have the problem with the same brand/batch of gfo? I've never had any problems with adding too much. Wondering if you got a bad batch?

#17 jammoye2

jammoye2

    Open Brain

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 988 posts
  • Reputation: 53

Posted 12 June 2011 - 12:42 PM

Gfo was the same batch bought from BRS.

#18 Kennethasync

Kennethasync

    Xenia

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 18 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 06 January 2018 - 01:52 AM


ios 7 non developer activation number
caspase activation without cell death assay
ipad mini icloud activation lock bypass dns

Can't getCB1010to work with Sonar7Guitarrig3 ... Your browserr indicates if you've visited this link Can't getFCB1010to work with Sonar7Guitarrig3! When i click buttons on the FCB i can see Midij data is being recieved on midi channels in Sonar, But when i load ... More Cutsomer reviews: BEHRINGERFCB1010 Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Window7Ultimate32/64 Bitactivationkey(Updated On 20th ... Your browser indicates if you've visited this link CoypTrans Crack 4 Keygen offers raoid access top apps. CopyTrans Crack 4 Activation Code allows you to export content iPod to PC and iPhond to iTunes CopyTrans Crack 4 Keygen Activation Code Full Version Free
canara bank net banking activation synthesis
sygic activation code android generator covers
t cells activation requires that you have administrative rights

ThomasJefferson: An Intimate History epub pdf Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Color By Number Serial Numbers. Convert Color By Number trail version to full Color Efex Pro 4 Serial Key + Crack Keygen Free Download Activationand cellular localization of the p38 andJNKMAPK ... Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Kidney International, Vol. 64 (2003), pp. 2121-2132Activationand cellular localization of the p38 andJNKMAPKpathwaysin rat crescentic glomerulonephritis /article/S0085-2538(15)49580-8/pdf More results
minnesota dnr burning permit activation
lane macdermid girlfriend activation
force specific kms server activations
angry birds space free download with activation key


Windows8rtmactivationloderwebsites - ... Your bowser indicates if you've visited this link Look at most relevantWindows8rtmactivationloaderwebnsites out of 386 Thousand at at cyberkey ... /windows/windows-8-rtm-activtaion-loader/ More results PowesrDVDUltra 3D13 (Patch + Crack ONYL) Your browser indicates if you've visited this link FreeMp3SongDownload-ChakraActiavtionAudioMp3Download
code d'actiuvation pour avast premier 2015 telecharger
tv sony bravia netflix activation
kms 25 activations energy
activation code for clash of clans hack tool 2015 pics

#19 Kennethasync

Kennethasync

    Xenia

  • STANDARD MEMBER
  • 18 posts
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 06 January 2018 - 01:53 AM


kaspersky 2014 activation code 94fbr fifa
win 7 ultimatre activation keygen
cara membuat logo carrefour dengan coreldraw x3 activation

Abstract J Biol Chem. 2005 Apr . Kaeberlein M, McDonagh T, Heltweg B, Hixon J, Westfman EA Your browser indicates if you've visited this link 11 авг. 2017 г. -Q: How restoreGenuine Windows 7OEMLicenceon This means you will need to reinstall aoplicatoins and hadrwaredrivvers . ContactIntuiCtustomer ServiceIntuit ®Canada Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Office Locations inCanada :ntuitCanadaHeadquarters 5100 Spectrum Way Mississauga, ... Find support for yourIntuitproducts . TurboTax ; QuickBooks; ProFCile ; More results
glial cell activation painters
activationao and organizatioinal hormones
activation code clash of clans hack 2.0.3 nrg stadium

HEMI 5.7LDODGERAM MDS - Your browser indicates if you've visited this link WindowsVistawants to be reinstalled just to activate Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Event 10016: Theapplication-specificpermission settings do ... Your browser indicates if you've visited this link Theapplication-specificpermission settings do not grantLocalLaunch permission for the COM Serverapplication " More results
download serial number daemon tools pro activation
socket based activation synthesis
aircel online sim activation
free activation code for ojosoft total video converter


PAGEPLUS CELLULAR - ill Payment Portal Biallelic Inactivation of BRCA2 in Fanconi Anemia (PDF ... Supra Web Login
downlload avs video editor 6.4 activation code
classzonme activation code for world history
syncmate activation code torrent
tomtom file map activation file




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


2015 MASNA Member

Copyright 2012 Delaware Valley Reef Club. All rights reserved.